IAM - What is affiliation and when do accounts expire?

Affiliation Criteria

You are affiliated with the UI if you are a student or employee who meets the criteria below.

Request affiliation assistance

 Students:

  • Eligible to register in a future term (up to 2 years)
  • Active Engineering Outreach or Independent Study
  • Admitted in the current or future term
  • Registered in the current or future term
  • Graduated within the past year:
    • Spring
    • Summer
    • Fall
  • Late registration grace period = 2 weeks into the term.

 Employees

  • Active employment record with Human Resources
  • Temporary Help Employee
  • Retiree - Honored Staff or Emeritus Faculty
  • 9-month faculty appointment recorded with Human Resources


When an employee's EPAF is done being processed they are officially affiliated with the University as an employee. The system automatically removes sponsorship status, as it is no longer required.

A functional (group) account owner must match employee affiliation criteria.

 Sponsored Accounts

  • Active, verified sponsorship within the past 12 months
  • Sponsor must match employee affiliation criteria

Account Expiration Process

When Affiliation Criteria Ends:

 Students

  1. Immediate account deletion if no password has been set
  2. Email notices are sent 14 days and 7 days before the account is disabled.
  3. The account is disabled after 14 days and cannot be accessed using credentials.
  4. The account is deleted 4 weeks after it has been disabled.
  5. Notices of deletion are sent to uidaho and security profile emails.

 Employees + Functional Accounts

  1. Account is immediately disabled on position end date.
    • A grace period of 120 days is allowed for positions with job classifications GA, RA, TA, F9, F5 and SS. This allows grade submission and access during the summer.
  2. An email notice is sent to the account's supervisor including:
    • functional account ownership
    • sponsored account list
    • group ownership
  3. The account is deleted 4 weeks after being disabled.

 Sponsored Accounts

  1. Account is immediately deleted if no password has been set on the account.
  2. An initial account expiration notice is sent out to the account preferred email.
  3. A second account expiration notice is sent out after 6 days to the account preferred email.
  4. The account is disabled after 7 days and cannot be accessed using credentials.
  5. The account is deleted 4 weeks after it has been disabled.
  6. Notices of deletion are sent to both the sponsor and sponsored account owner.
0% helpful - 1 review

Details

Article ID: 255
Created
Mon 1/29/18 11:31 AM
Modified
Fri 9/11/20 9:27 AM