How do I erase my Android device?

Overview

This article outlines a method to ensure that data on your Android device is rendered inaccessible once it's erased. A regular factory reset may leave your data accessible to future users with the right tools. To ensure your data is safe, we suggest encrypting your device before erasing it. The following instructions are applicable to most Android devices, but the diversity of the Android ecosystem means that some devices might require a different procedure. Please contact your Technology Solutions Partner, Local Support, or the Student Technology Center for additional assistance.

Important! The following process will render any existing data on you device unrecoverable. Please ensure any data you wish to retain is stored elsewhere before proceeding.

Process

You may be able to find settings such as 'Encryption' and or 'Backup & Reset' with the Search function of your Android phone.

Step 1:

Open your device Settings app.

Step 2:

Tap "Security".

Step 3:

Under "Encryption" (or "Encryption & credentials"),  tap "Encrypt Phone". The device may prompt to create a PIN if one doesn't exist and reboot.

If the device is already encrypted, move to the next step.

Step 4:

Remove the SIM card and any SD cards.

Step 5:

Open the Settings app again. Tap "System".

Step 6:

Tap "Reset Options" or "Backup & reset". Tap "Erase all data (factory reset)" or "reset". Follow the on-screen prompts to finish resetting the device.

 

 

Details

Article ID: 1509
Created
Fri 1/3/20 4:26 PM
Modified
Tue 2/23/21 2:23 PM